Totally Worth It

Even though I didn’t make a ton of money, I am so glad that I participated in the Madison
Bead Society Arts & Crafts Show on Saturday. I’m quite a newby to the craft fair world, so my table is pretty simple:
I did make enough to pay for the cost of participating and had some left over to cover the cost of materials. I can’t imagine ever making enough to cover the cost of my labor. At this point, I figure I’m making slightly more than a child laborer slaving over rugs in Pakistan. But it’s a labor of love, so that’s OK.

My table was set up such that I was in a little pod with two other beaders, and we had a great day talking and sharing experiences. I should have taken a picture of Kathy, who was the most experienced of us three. She was quite generous with sharing her know-how. All the beading folks were super nice. I’ve been a member of the society for two years, but haven’t made it to any meetings. Now that I’ve met a few people, I’m sure I’ll start going.

The show was in small mall that doesn’t get a lot of traffic, but my jewelry did arouse enough interest to make me feel that I should continue trying to sell my work. I was especially encouraged by the feedback I got from fellow beaders — many with work far more beautiful than mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Totally Worth It

Leave a Reply

